Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Grooming

It’s no secret that curlews are amongst my avian favourites. We’re lucky that these red lost birds seem so at home in Conwy’s reserve, but even here it’s easier to hear their mournful cries than to actually see them. 


Walking along the estuary, their cries are clear, but I search the mudbanks, marsh and water’s edge in vain. At last I spot that unmistakable beak and elegant silhouette - there’s one grooming on the mud just beyond the tidal vegetation. Obviously right now appearance is more important than feeding, feathers carefully preened and put in place after the breeze has done it’s worse. After all, it is the weekend and he’s clearly needs to look his best…… 

Thanks so much for the response to yesterdays Lost in Space blip. It’s very different from my usual offering, but I’m so grateful for the positive reaction! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.