The Art of Open Doors

Thank you for the interest shown in yesterday’s rather odd ‘flower’ - certainly not the most beautiful or photogenic, but it was so fascinating I felt I had to share it! 

Today brings a venture into old Funchal. This is our third visit to the island, and each time I love walking round the old streets and photographing the painted doors - something done by every Blipper visiting the island I’m sure. Started back in 2010, the Open Doors project was set up to bring new life to the buildings in this largely derelict part of town, and judging by the vibrancy of the area today, it has been a great success. Of course, not all ‘art’ is of equal quality, and generally it ‘prettifies’ the area rather than attempting to be subversive - though elements of this are to be seen. 

Many of the doors this morning are closed - giving the best opportunity to see the art work of course. Some are private residences, but many are the doors of small shops or cafes and are obscured by piled up chairs; some are obscured by flea market stalls. So today I focus on closed doors, editing each one individually than joining them together in this collage - just a sample of the doors within the project. 

While I love the colour and variety here, I’ve added four more doors in extras. One - the woman in the pink dress, is simply to show a door in context, another shows a door just visible behind a stall. The other two are literally ‘open doors’; one being opened - one of my favourites, and while I’d like to see the whole door, I rather like the light here and find it rather poignant; the other half open gives a glimpse of pre-lunch preparations. 
  
More on the project below
https://www.arteportasabertas.com/en/info.html

Limiting myself to stars and hearts - with minimal comments. I know you’ll understand 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.