Light & sight

By CameronDP

Numb

Did someone mention spring? I certainly didn't. I think I have been colder today than at any other time this longer-than-expected winter - and that's most unlike me, being the fruit of many generations of rugged West Yorkshire folk . My ancestry also includes Glaswegians and boatbuilders from the north of Scotland! And yet, walking from train station to front door this evening, I could feel my gloveless fingers literally going numb in the bone-deep chill :=/
But enough 'that'. I actually took this shot on the way into the office this morning. I'd dropped in to stock up on citrus fruit - something to keep my engine humming through the lengthy morning that lay ahead. It's an old-fashioned, keepin' it real, backstreet florist-grocers. Every single customer is addressed as 'loove' (with a vowel to match 'foot'). "That'll be a pownd please, looove".
And while we're talking about that kind o't'ing, there's a newsagent just up the road from this place who calls every female customer who walks through his doors as "pet". "That'll be £2.26 please pet". He's been doing it for years and years. He's a nice enough geezer but you know, if I was like, a woman 'n that, I think it might grate. But I'm not, so there you go....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.