The Way I See Things

By JDO

Skittish

The village was sunk in deep meteorological gloom today, and so was I. Guy Garvey once said that living in Manchester is mainly like being inside a Tupperware box with the lid on, and it struck me that being in the Shire this afternoon was similar, except that my Tupperware box contained a thick layer of left-over mashed potato from Sunday lunch, and I was stuck underneath it. I used flash to prevent my ISO from going through the roof, but taking photos was still something of a chore because there simply weren't many invertebrates out and about.

You can imagine then how happy I was when this Red Admiral swooped down onto the ivy hedge outside Tilly's field - though sadly the butterfly was far less pleased to see me. Interestingly, it didn't react even slightly to the flash, but threw a conniption every time I moved so much as a muscle. Nevertheless, we both persevered, and in the end I had a handful of shots that I thought were acceptable and was able to back away and leave my skittish subject to its meal.

I love the patterns on the underside of a Red Admiral's wing - so much more subtle and interesting than the vivid tricolour overwing. The flash here has brought out a range of colours, and even some iridescence, that you don't always see, and I think this is worth viewing full-screen, if you have the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.