The Way I See Things

By JDO

Blue

I was intending to post the 10-spot ladybird I found noodling around the photinia this morning, because it's always nice to see one of the less common ladybirds. But every time I look at this weevil in its little dark boots I find myself smiling, and I know that R loves it too, so in the end I've relegated the ladybird to the extras. I can't tell you very much about the weevil except that it's called Oxystoma pomonae, and it's usually found in association with various forms of vetch, which are its preferred larval foodplants. I can't think why it would be hanging about in my garden, but it's possible that it (or its wife) may have laid its eggs into the pods of my perennial pea. This specimen was about 3mm long, and and didn't care at all for having its photo taken.


It's National Poetry Day here in the UK, and I hope that these lines by Mary Oliver, the great American poet of the natural world, might speak to you as much as they do to me:

When loneliness comes stalking, go into the fields, consider
the orderliness of the world.

Notice something you have never noticed before,
like the tambourine sound of the snow-cricket
whose pale green body is no longer than your thumb.

Stare hard at the hummingbird, in the summer rain,
shaking the water-sparks from its wings.

Let grief be your sister, she will wither or not.
Rise up from the stump of sorrow, and be green also,
like the diligent leaves.

A lifetime isn’t long enough for the beauty of this world
and the responsibilities of your life.

Scatter your flowers over the graves, and walk away.
Be good-natured and untidy in your exuberance.

In the glare of your mind, be modest.
And beholden to what is tactile, and thrilling.

Live with the beetle, and the wind.

Excerpt from The Leaf and the Cloud: a Poem
Mary Oliver (1935-2019)


And finally, this week's Tiny Tuesday results. Many thanks to everyone who's participated in this challenge over the five weeks I've been hosting - it's been great fun for me, and I hope that you've found plenty to interest you in looking for tiny things to photograph.

In no particular order, my hearts this week go to:

Hevkk - for a handsome carder bee, wearing what my mother would have described as "a very cunning hat".

suejay50 - for a terrific portrait of an ant (scratch, scratch).

Miranda1008 - for another perfectly lit and shot portrait of a tiny wild flower.

Marlieske - for the exuberantly pink and orange blooms of the spindle tree.

AnnieBelle - for an intriguing photo of some green lacewing eggs, accompanied by a fascinating write-up.

And - again, in no particular order - my Honourable Mentions this week go to:

Helwild - for a lovely shiny conker, still in its case,

otornblom - for a knitting dinosaur - who knew that they could do that?!

Technophobe - for an enticing close-up of some fresh corn.

Chris_P - for an extremely dramatic pencil point.

BanksiaMan - for a mealybug producing a drop of honeydew.

rainie - for tiny raindrops on misty bluebells.

Please take a few minutes to view and admire these photos - they will repay your time! And please do follow KangaZu, who will be your Tiny Tuesday host for the rest of this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.