Pickling Friday

Picked 3.5kg of my homegrown tomatoes today. I went to the supermarket and bought a load of clear distilled vinegar as I’m going to try something different to my usual green tomato chutney this year. I’ve got quite a few nice new spices, some fennel, shallots and I’m going to pick some dill tomorrow as it’s still in very good condition. The cashier at the supermarket said to me, “Pickling Friday?” to me like it was a thing! I’ll have to get it all sorted tomorrow once the jars have been cleaned and sterilised.

This eve MrH was back late so I made late evening meatballs with tagliatelle which felt rather autumnal.

Had a wonderful long bath which felt very luxurious and importantly, good for my soul.

A weird day for me. First day in 25 years I’ve not been in paid employment, I’m officially between jobs in terms of not being for full-time working. I was so itchy to do some work first thing or just to check my work emails and I felt like I couldn’t just go out and do stuff as I wasn’t on leave. I’m sure it’s a change or self-imposed boundary I’ll soon get over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.