Shadows in time

By cairistiona

Walkway

Walkway outside the JB Morrell Library, University of York. We were just getting used to the colder weather and then summer returned today.

Lunchtime was a coffee & cake outside the library cafe. There were no free tables, so I sat diagonally opposite a student who was on her laptop, at a picnic table under a tree. We didn't speak beyond the usual polite 'Is it OK if I sit here?' etc. Until suddenly, without warning, she yelled "Jesus H. Christ!" At first I thought she must have received some horrendous news via email, but she then began attacking her laptop with her pencil case, screeching, "A massive spider's just landed on my screen!" I found this quite funny, until a moment later, a ladybird started dive bombing me (I'm not a massive fan, they're basically beetles with spots on). My half hour lunch break was pretty much over by this time anyway, so I headed back to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.