A big day

This weekend's project was to mulch the front garden. Nearly 3 years on it's doing well and the soil is much improved. There's still areas if bare soil, we're prone to strong winds, and our summers are hot and dry.

For anyone wondering if it's a big job to get 2 trailer loads (2 cubic metres) of mulch, then shovel-wheelbarrow-shovel/bucket it onto the garden, yes it is. Fortunately I'm fit.

From the road edge to the front garden you see here, I clocked up 13km. I'm glad I didn't bother running this morning and I certainly didn't need the strength session.

I need to water it over the coming weeks so the mulch forms more of a wind resistant matting. It's all part of a bigger cunning plan.

Oh, and the new tree on the grass edge is an ash. It replaces the previous one which was badly planted and died. I love that it was a level 3 "essential coucil service".

Today's gratitude: For the luxury of a warm shower and a takeaway curry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.