Equality

Today was the first of two days of hearing arguments by the US Supreme Court over same-sex marriage rights. I'm already hearing that the judges are reluctant to make broad decisions on that topic... What the heck??? Isn't that precisely their job? Jeesh...

Anyhow, I thought I'd go down there and check things out myself (now that I live in town, yeah!). I chatted with a number of folks who were protesting there and lining up for a chance to get inside and listen in on the proceedings. Some had spent the last two nights sleeping in cars, alternating shifts of a few hours. Everyone was very hopeful.

This shot is of a whole family who came from New Jersey to support the right of their son (on the left of the picture) to marry: "It's a matter of fundamental human rights."
:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.