JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 282: Hawthorn

The hawthorn is fruiting prolifically this year, reddening all the hedgerows. This was taken shortly before sundown, so the colours are warm and saturated, but my subjects are very limited by this time of day, because so much of the garden and our surroundings are in deep shade. I'm still trying to adjust to the shortening days, and must learn to seize, or create, more opportunities in the mornings. It's been another beautiful autumn day, with morning mist dissipating into warm midday sun.

Today's excitement was going to the village hall for the flu vaccination clinic. It was very well organised, with the nurses' tables spread out around the large room, a one way system, volunteers directing us as we arrived, and the warm weather made it easy to keep the room ventilated. We were in and out in just a few minutes. I had been a little anxious that it might be crowded, but my anxiety was unnecessary. 

The village hall is at the opposite end of the village from our house, and during the walk there and back we met more friends and neighbours than I have seen in many months, most of them also going to or returning from their vaccinations. Some stopped to chat, others just waved and greeted us: it felt very friendly, and reminded me of going to vote, also in the village hall and similarly sociable. In the past nineteen months we have twice voted by post: although the outcome is the same and it's obviously the sensible thing to do during a pandemic, it feels very different, so I hope in future we will feel able to return to voting in person, with the booth, the blunt pencil, and the bowl of sweets on the way out. Today reminded me that I love living in a village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.