Shadows in time

By cairistiona

Sunset over the fish and chip shop car park

I tried to take Mum for a drive this afternoon, but put diesel in the car  instead of unleaded.  I only put in 1.7 litres before I realised my mistake (It was a Spar garage, not my usual, and the blasted Diesel pumps have green lettering on). 

Eventually, after a lot of panicking and after the garage guy along with a random cab driver had pushed my car off the forecourt, I managed to get in touch with a misfuelling recovery company (didn't even know that was a thing).  The cabbie had told me, "Whatever you do, don't turn the ignition key!" which freaked me out a bit, and I put my car keys away in my bag so that I didn't do it absent-mindedly. So  I was quite surprised to learn that  in fact, with such a small amount it of 'misfuel' it would actually be fine to fill the car right up with my usual petrol to dilute it,  and drive on. So I did. Saved me £150.   

When I went in the garage to pay for my petrol, I asked about paying for the 1.7 litres of diesel, which in my earlier panicking state I hadn't paid for. I found that the young guy on the till had paid for it with his own card - it was just under £3, and he wouldn't hear of me giving him the money back. I feel quite bad about that. I will have to revisit him with something for a thank you. 

What a lot of unexpected drama. It was too late to go for a drive after all that, so Mum & I went for fish and chips instead. The photo is sunset over the fish and chip shop car park. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.