ANOTHER GREAT BLIPMEET!

We were up bright and early this morning, ready for our early getaway from North Yorkshire on our way to Sutton Coldfield, where we were due to meet up with fellow Blipper, Rainette and her lovely husband, Geoff.

We only had one altercation with the Satnag when she told us to go via the A68 rather than on the M1, but in the end, Mr. HCB decided to “do as he was told” and it was a very pleasant drive.

We are staying overnight in a Premier Inn, which is much better than the Days Inn we stayed in last weekend.  We weren’t due to book in until after 3 o’clock but as we were passing by the door just before 1 o’clock, I decided to ring to see if our room was ready early and it was.  We dropped our bags off then made our way to where Rainette and Geoff live but once again, we had to remonstrate with the Satnag, when she told us to “Turn right” well before we should have done and we ended up in the car park of the local hospital.  

However, it wasn’t too far down the road and we were greeted very warmly by our wonderful hostess and host and after a quick chat, we were treated to a sumptuous lunch of Boeuf Bourguignon with delicious accompanying vegetable dishes.  I really must try adding chestnuts to my spiced red cabbage!

The desserts were a joy to behold - a fresh fruit meringue was quickly followed by a plum and almond tart with mascarpone cream - all washed down with a glass or two of red wine - what a treat - the diet definitely starts very soon!

I remembered their beautiful garden from the last time I visited on my own, so it was good to wander around looking at all their beautiful plants.  Geoff and Mr. HCB got on very well - as both Rainette and I knew they would - in fact, they did “gang up on us” from time to time, but I won’t share any secrets here - however, I’m sure you can see by the shot I took of the two of them that they look quite mischievous.  

I had remembered to put in my selfie stick, so was able to take a shot of the four of us - and of course, I wore my pink gilet but I know I don’t need to remind you about clicking - I’m sure you all know what to do by now!  This is the LINK, and by clicking you are helping those who cannot afford to pay to have a free mammogram.

Before we left, we were served a wonderful quiche with a mixed dressed salad because as Geoff said, “We don’t like to eat a salad with nothing on”!

It was lovely to meet up with Rainette and Geoff but all good things come to an end, so we took our leave of them and made our way back to our hotel, ready for another adventure tomorrow.  I think we might need a holiday to get over this holiday!


“If you find it in your heart 
     to care for somebody else, 
          you will have succeeded.
Maya Angelou

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.