My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

"What that?"

Manchester Marathon
4:06:55

That was hard!
Not my quickest time or most consistent race. My pace was good for the first 15 or so miles and, even though it was quicker than I intended, it felt like I was running within myself. Then I fell off a cliff at about 17/18 as my back started to hurt along with every part of my legs. Still, I got myself round and, after a spot of cramp at 23, managed to keep it going for the last 5k to the finish (my best pace was down the finish straight).

The whole thing was really well organised and the support pretty much all the way round was great, especially through the city centre and areas like Chorlton, Sale, Timperley and Altrincham. But it is mainly running around houses and shopping streets. I prefer a bit more variety.
It was really great to get support from Louisa and Owen too at points around the course, especially at 22 to help keep me going. Owen was very intrigued, "what that?", by the medal at the end, wanting to wear it himself...much more interested than the very first time he came to a race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.