Binocular Vision

I was given my first binoculars 56 years ago - I can still remember watching a kestrel hovering and being excited about the close up image. I have upgraded twice since then - I bought this pair after the previous pair’s lenses were damaged. I have had these a long time, and it probably shows. The world of binoculars is not one of frequent upgrades.

Prism binoculars were invented in the 19th century. There are two types. The earliest invention was the porro prism binocular, named after its Italian inventor. My first two binoculars were this type, they are cheaper to make. Then at the end of the century the roof prism binocular was invented by Carl Zeiss working with others, although these did not enter the mainstream till the 1960’s - they have more complicated optics and are more expensive to make (and buy).

What really counts of course is what you see, and how clearly you see. These go with me everywhere in the countryside, and they work just fine.

Thanks to Laurie 54 for hosting Mono Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.