Marine Recruits

Lots of wonderful photo opps in the park this morning, but the most surprising one was this group of young people I encountered at the base of the sledding hill. On command, they ran up the hill and back down, then fell into formation and jogged down the trail. I had gone on ahead, so I turned around and snapped several pictures as they came around the curve, chanting in response to a large man with a booming voice...

Marine Corps
Marine Corps
Your corps
Your corps
My corps
My corps
Every day
Every day
All the way
All the way.

It was a group of early entry Marine Corp recruits from area schools. While still in school, they enlist in the Marines, and upon graduation will report for basic training.

Our oldest grandson made that commitment three years ago when he graduated, and now he is an Army Ranger. Watching these young men and women brought tears to my eyes. It makes me both proud and sad. Proud because they have made the commitment to serve; sad because there is so much turmoil in our world. My prayer is for peace and for protection for all service men and women everywhere. I hope other people, from my country and yours, are praying for the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.