50 years ago.

50 years ago today I joined  the Royal Air Force. 50 years! How can that be? I remember it like it was last week, my attestation was at Watford, and two days later I headed up to Grantham for my basic training. Oh what fun I had! It was hard, but we got on with it. I remember getting up ridiculously early so we could put our  'detached' collars on with the studs at the back, they were so stiff they cut into our necks. I'm sure there can't be many men around that remember detached collars, let alone women!

The group picture was at the end of my Trade training, I'm on the right and my good (but crazy friend )Sylvia is on the left. I wonder what came of her as we eventually lost contact. The other one was taken at a later time, but shows my devotion to my Bearded Collies even then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.