WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

What?

Mystère: "Really? A photo of vultures?" S tries to get him to pose with his about-to-be-published book, but he's not a good model and is not impressed. Anyway, it's all I've got.

It's not officially published yet, but S has been sending out review copies and was pleased to get a great review from Mark Avery, a big cheese in the world of rewilding.

Speaking of cheese:I bought some Taleggio at the market in Lagrasse on Saturday, just because it was there, and then wondered what to do with it. A quick look on Eat Your Books turned up a recipe in my favourite Italian baking book, so a large chunk of the last two days has been spent making Focaccia di Recco. I foolishly assumed this was just ordinary focaccia stuffed with cheese. Que nenni! It's a laminated dough like  croissant dough that takes two days to make. It took so long for its second rise this morning that I skipped the Tuesday walk to nurture it.

Eventually I turned out a  massive flaky but rather flat disk. We'd had an alternative lunch by then, but we both tried a small piece. It was not bad, but I wondered how we were going to eat all of it (no room in the freezer). Luckily it's pizza night. So S warmed it up and cut it into small portions, and we took it to the bar, where it all got eaten while people were waiting for their pizza. Lots of rosé to wash it down, and a good dose of conviviality over several pizzas.

In other news, a sigh of relief as my photo prints finally arrived and I was able to unite them with ther frames ready for the exhibition on Saturday. Pleased with how they look, it makes such a difference having proper mounts (and luckily they fit, just, as I had to order the frames and mounts without having the actual photos).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.