Patience Rewarded

I went off to Blickling this morning in search of fungi to photograph. I know exactly where good specimens are, but unfortunately that turned out to be exactly the part of the lake walk that was closed off as a tree had come down. As I walked back round the lake I heard the warning on this angler's rod telling him he had a bite. Not sure what I feel about the sport of fishing, I don't think I'm really comfortable with it. The fish was quickly released.

I was feeling very tired this afternoon, so I watched the built up to and flight of the Blue Origin rocket with William Shatner as one of the 4 'astronauts' on board. At 90 years old, he became the oldest man 'in space' - how brave, you wouldn't catch me in a rocket getting up to 2,235 mph in the 4 mins it took to get above the Karman Line 66 miles above Earth. The short period of weightlessness and the descent took another 6 mins. He spoke movingly afterwards about the 'instant' it took to go from the blue of the atmosphere to the blackness of space and the fragility of the blue cushion around our planet. Another thing I'm not sure how I feel about it, on the face of it it's a terrible waste of resources and a contribution to global warming, but 'Blue Origin believes that in order to preserve Earth, our home, for our grandchildren’s grandchildren, we must go to space to tap its unlimited resources and energy.' I'm still undecided. Regardless, well done 'Captain Kirk'.

Day 576 / Day 87 of Step 4 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
There were 42,776 new cases in the UK today, the highest since mid July - I don't think most people realise what an outlier the UK is in having such high cases. There was an outage on the NHS Covid app today meaning that some people missed flights as they couldn't access their digital Covid pass - stupid them I say for not downloading the PDF copy before travelling! An antibody has been found in the blood of a man who recovered from Covid which has a 'potent' neutralising effect on multiple Covid variants, which could be developed to protect people. A govt expert says Delta is now so dominant worldwide that it's causing other variants to become extinct - good news if it's now stabilised and next gen vaccines can tackle it specifically. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.