Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

A Quiet Day, Until ...

Four fit young men with chainsaws appeared, as arranged at 4pm. Within moments three were up in the crowns of the birch and larch that were leaning at worrying angles, and branches were hailing down on the one left on the ground. I left them to it at that point, I don't know how the got the trunks down exactly. But a couple of hours later they were gone, and the trees reduced to logs. 

In case you are thinking that our garden is denuded, the spruce are still there, having crowded out the others. And we have planted many a tree during our time here - I keep meaning to count them. 

The lads will be back tomorrow afternoon to reduce the 'hedge' at the bottom of the garden. It isn't visible from the house, so we hadn't realised how tall and straggly it is. 

So by tea time tomorrow, peace should be restored.

I found this clump of schizostylus when I went out to look for a picture. I hope that is something like the right way to spell it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.