Windmill 'De Kersenboom', Rijsoord

'Kersenboom' = 'ker-sen-bome' = 'cherry tree'... a lovely name.
'Rijsoord' = 'Rice-owrt' ... an 'oord' is a kind of 'haven of rest' (no rice grown here)

Another mid-afternoon trip, long before rush hour.  It had been cloudy the whole morning, but the promise of sun in the afternoon became more real as the hours went by.  Nonetheless, it took a long while before the clouds actually budged from their stubborn positions, so stubborn that I seriously wondered if I should go elsewhere and detoured accordingly, but then the clouds were fooled by my movements and moved to where they thought I was headed, and I then scooted off to this place behind their backs.  Mission done for today.  And don't be fooled by that blue sky -- it was a mere 11 degrees and, of course, the Ellaphant did not bring a coat.  Excitement warms up the blood, no?

There is a kingfisher sanctuary right beside this mill, the white building on the right.  When spring comes, I might return here to check it out and try to take shots of the birds.

Before I left, another round of cleaning at home as AW attacked the remaining 1/3 of the ground floor which we did not have the energy to do last time.  He also moved his small computer desk closer to the kitchen, and we repositioned the piano and a small cabinet.  When we return from our weekend, we might finally dump the old dinner table + 6 chairs and get a smaller set.  Or maybe wait till I clean up the space under the stairs?  Haha!  It's never done, is it.  But it will be, oh yes.

Another round of ironing and laundry while AW hied off to his Tuesday evening live bridge.  Really glad that room is free again.  I got our old printer from downstairs so now I'll need to rearrange my work space to accommodate it.  All in good time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.