Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Sevenoaks Shambles

I used to occasionally visit my old friend Ian Stupples in this quiet, bucolic corner of Kent. No longer with us, this is the first time I've been back since we sprinkled our friend's ashes in the beautiful countryside he loved.

I'm back here today so that my friend Paul and hear Dr John Cooper Clarke recite his legendary poetry at The Stag Theatre.

Sevenoaks and the punk poet are a strange mix, however at the time it was the closest gig to Central London I could find and I wanted it near mine and Paul's birthdays.

As we approached the venue, people of a certain age and dress came out of nearby pubs to fill the venue to the rafters. It was a great night, enhanced very much by warm up act, Mike Garry, a much more sensitive beast and charismatic educator of young people. 

I suspect Sevenoaks doesn't hear the like very often, but when it does, it notices!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.