Rabbit tales

A few days ago the grounds team at the hippodrome cleared much of the vegetation inside one of the turns of the track. Between the service track that I normally take and the inside of the clay track there was an uneven area with tall elephant grass and other things growing. Under all all this are quite a few rabbit burrows. They first cut back the edges then really went at it, cutting the vegetation back quite hard. I don't think pleased the rabbits though as most of their burrow entrances are now exposed.

When we arrived today the rabbits were all sitting about and quite visible, playing statues in the hope that the dog can't see them - which didn't work so well as he can now see them and did plenty of chasing. Though he can now get at them, they had plenty of warning and bolted for their burrows at the last minute.

From where this picture was taken we ambled over to the section at the other end where the lake is. As usually the furry terror disappeared into the bushes for a while, and various birds shot out of the top...

We then walked to the steps and I could tell something was funny as he wasn't sniffing for rabbit poo or trying to eat it. He had his guilty look or I've something and I'm not sharing look, so I stopped and check what he had in his mouth. I saw something white and fluffy in his mouth, so knowing he is found of feathers and there is no shortage of feathers here I took it out, only it wasn't a feather he had, but a white rabbit tail. I don't know if he caught a rabbit, or if he found a dead rabbit, but he had found it and was proud of himself....!

I do like rabbit, but frankly there isn't much meat of a rabbit tail, so we'll not be dining on rabbit tonight...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.