But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Aurora.

Although the weather wasn’t the best on the last day of the holiday, I cycled past Boyne Castle – first visited 6 years ago when I used a fish-eye lens to get all of the castle in the picture. The lens was crap so I stopped today to improve on it by doing the panorama shown in the extra. It’s still not a good image, just the best record of the crumbling ruin that I have. I noticed that the cooncil have posted yellow signs warning that it is now a dangerous structure and extreme caution should be exercised. I carefully refrained from touching anything.
 
After dinner, Mine Hostess announced that there was an aurora alert, so Mr MH drove me out to a local vantage point where we noticed that there was a band of sky that might have been a little lighter than the rest (if one used one’s imagination) and, similarly, might have had a slight green tinge to it. Even more incredible was that above it, one could almost imagine that there was a faint pinkness to the sky. I can now proudly boast that I might have seen and Aurora.
 
Footnote: The more recent versions of photoshop can replace a sky at the touch of a button; I have even seen a picture of an aurora with the Sphinx in the foreground – but it doesn’t engender the same sense of thrill; however, I would like to see the Sphinx.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.