Imagine the view....

By btc

Serpentine Spring Sunset Swans....

...well at least rumour has it that it's spring, I haven't seen any evidence to prove it, although I woke to a blue sky and the sun poked its nose out long for me to get this shot but someone needs to turn the heating on. I can't believe how much colder it was than 'London by the sea'.

As promised I am in a park today (a proper one this time), Hyde Park to be precise. The Serpentine is a 40-acre recreational lake in Hyde Park created in 1730 at the behest of Queen Caroline. Although it is common to refer to the entire body of water as The Serpentine, actually the name refers only to the eastern half of the lake. Serpentine Bridge, which marks the boundary between Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, also marks The Serpentine's western boundary; the long and narrow western half of the lake is known as The Long Water.

As I have mentioned in a previous blip, this is a body of water that I nearly drowned in, those of you better with water that I am can go swimming or boating in the serpentine during the summer.

Thanks for all the lovely pier comments on yesterday quintessentially English pleasure pier at Brighton (if that's what still passes for pleasure these days), all I do know is that I had a great time, as I always do there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.