Exped day 2

Back blipped yesterday.

Up early, packing a dry tent feels like a win.

A swap of groups. Let's go again. Different maps.
Some not quite right followed by some very very good followed by some let's go have a chat.
And this is the nice part of the day. Even I don't fully appreciate yet what's to come.

Implausibly (an admiteddly early) lunch is at Esk Buttress. But we're committed now. Plans A-C are history, but we've few options that don't require us to cover what's going to feel like a lot of ground.
(England's highest peak is on the extra).
I know the why, but I also have a job to do, I can't make it easier. The standout candidates are going to have to work harder, see things from a different view.
But we're slow. By Scafell Pike visibility is down to 10m, we're in thick wet cloud and the wind is vicious. I'm seeing the best of some candidates, but I'm also on to plan F.

Camping at Angle Tarn isn't an option, standing is hard. So we move on, it's dark now and the rain is coming. It's tough, I'm feeling it. The long stone stairway of Rossett Ghyll is steep, unforgiving and laced with consequences. It's kinda fun.

We reach camp eleven hours after we left the last. I've seen everything I need to know.
The weather is kind and gives us 30minures to pitch, cook and say good night. And then it decides to really test the tents.

(I love how this car sized rock looks like a sculpture of the mountain)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.