JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

The cairn

Didn't leave for Galloway as early as I hoped. I'd forgotten to do a lateral flow test but all was well.  I was destined to be slow as there were road works before I got out of Fife and slow traffic on the Queensferry Bridge. The ring road was slow too which goes without saying. Even the Biggar road was the same.  Once I reached  Elvanfoot  I had empty roads and peace.  Stopped to photograph near Penpont where the sculptor Andy Goldsworthy lives. He uses natural materials and usually works outside often creating and photographing ephemeral pieces. I've passed this cairn many a time.   The extra is something I have never noticed before.  It's a 9th or early 10th century cross in its original position and decorated in both Anglian and Celtic designs.  Nice to have two stone structures close to each other but so far apart in time.  Eventually reached Willow Lodge to find Veda had arrived just before me after a nightmare drive down a flooded single track road.  It goes through the Galloway forest and is quite  a sombre and atmospheric drive at the best of times.  Our accommodation was perfect though and after a glass of wine we felt sufficiently restored to tackle the strange oven and a tasty Cook meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.