Istanbul

A overlong morning touring some properties for sale in Istanbul - I do sometimes think about moving back here - but I can't afford the areas where I'd most like to live (of course!).  The photo is the view from one of the apartments I viewed and is a good  visual comment on much of Istanbul. Overcrowded and rundown - but definitely being gentrified by developments such as the two brand new apartment buildings that I looked at. 

By 14.00 I was back on school campus and surprised my dear, dear friends and excolleagues in the music department. We three drank tea and had a lively catch up chat - other people walked by and it was a frequent greeting from those I haven't seen for so long. Quite emotional at times. After school, I met with Caitlin and we had an hour at her place before walking down the hill for an evening in Arnavutkoy with Sean and Marshal at Dantes bar, a favourite haunt.  Delicious food and an excess of imbibing may have featured during the six hours that we sat, talked, laughed... so good to be back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.