the last of Spain

Santander is definitely a city to which I'd like to return one day. I did my best to see some of it this morning and to take some photos. I kept being drawn back to this building - Centro Botin, an art gallery designed by Renzo Piano. It has a real relationship with the sea, and a lot of places to stand and look out over the city. Santander seems to have survived many disasters - a huge explosion in 1893, the civil war and a fire in 1941 which burned for two days. This has destroyed much of the old architecture, but amazingly, the Cathedral is still standing. I paid a quick visit and two girls wished me "Buen Camino!".

We are at the port now, waiting to board "Galicia". Internet charges on board are extortionate so I'm blipping now. My next post, if all goes well, will be from England...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.