Mill Race, New Lanark

A long and busy day. This evening I was delivering a lecture in Glasgow University about Education, Attainment and Independence. This afternoon was the Stage 1 Debate in the Scottish Parliament for the Post 16 Reform Bill, which was passed by 64 to 54.

This morning I went to New Lanark to open the Document Search Room , launch a new 3d Fly-through and thank the redoubtable Arthur Bell for his dedicated Chairmanship of the New Lanark Trust and an involvement with this inspirational project which has lasted for almost 40 years.

When we lived in Tillietudlem in the Clyde Valley ( during which time I was the Parliamentary Candidate for Cydesdale) I used to visit New Lanark a great deal. As an MSP I was at an Education Committee awayday there on 9/11 ( a day no one will ever forget).

As Culture Minister I took forward not just the Scottish 10 Project here but also got the village included on the subsidised school trip scheme - which is clearly working as my departure was delayed whilst I waited for lots of children to come though the doors on a visit that will have opened their eyes and , I hope , lifted their spirits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.