JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Dawn at the Martyr's stake.

Up before dawn into pitch darkness and fog everywhere so the drive to Wigtown was interesting to say the least. Arrived at the parking for the Martyr's stake in good time and got organised with my tripod. An early runner passed by and then I was alone with the increasing light and colour highlighting the walkway to the stake marking the spot where the martyr's died.  Margaret Maclauchlan and Margaret Wilson were Scottish Covenanters  who were executed by Scottish Episcopalians in 1685 in Wigtown, by tying them to stakes on the town's mudflats and allowing them to drown with the rising tide.  Makes one wonder about the human race.  These are people whose religion tells them to "love your neighbour as yourself."
 It was a beautiful sunrise with mist still on the hills and as the light grew there were sparkling water drops on grasses and cobwebs.  Drove along the shore road which was still misty in places, stopping for trees and sheep looming out of the mist with the sun behind them. A magical morning.   Veda had left when I got back so I spent the afternoon on the sofa reading and cosseting my knee.  Later I went into Newton Stewart and did the river circular walk which is quite short.  I was hoping for a good photo of the Cree bridge and the weir but it was not to be.  Back to hear of Veda's adventures over a Cook meal and wine.  She's staying closer to home tomorrow and I'm going to a favourite beach near Kirkcudbright.  We're meeting at Cream of Galloway for lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.