my pick-up truck

I carried all of these stones, twice, by myself. Basically I filled my trunk with stones and figured if it wasn't enough I'd get more on a second trip. I started with larger (i.e. heavier) ones and gradually decided the smaller ones were fine! Great news! It was enough and now I have a nice path to both gates.

For the first time ever I backed my car up in my garage - of course I've never had a camera in the back before to make it easier. Anything to reduce the distance I carried the stone. 

The stone place has a koi pond with a single water lily. 

I've grown even more cardboard as I noticed the newspaper didn't seem to be fully effective at killing the vinca. 

Last week I bought a fern that looks like the Japanese Painted Fern, that I have so many of, but is named Godzilla. That little thing in front my air conditioning unit? This is baby Godzilla. When Godzilla is grown you won't be able to see the AC unit. 

Then I went back to the gardening store and they had lots of plants they didn't have last week so my car played pick-up truck again for mulch, ferns, hellebores, and heucheras. 

So obviously I'm a sucker for a good name or I wouldn't have bought Godzilla. There is a plant called, "Chocoholic!" It is going to be as big as Godzilla! And I have three! (Probably perfect timing in my life to be growing black cohosh anyway. I'm kidding, there is no way I'm attacking the roots of Chocoholic.) "Actaea racemosa, the black cohosh, black bugbane, black snakeroot, or fairy candle...." What names! 


This garden is going to be AMAZING. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.