Bejewelled

Another dreich horrible day, but I did get out for a walk mid afternoon and quite enjoyed it (and I took the camera and took some photos including a couple in extras...which after all need using up). Until then, I had been tied up moving my life from one laptop to another...Successfully in the end, but it was a painful and overly complicated process. Having used, for the last three years, a Finnish language keyboard (albeit with language of the laptop set to English), I'm revelling this evening in the keys actually corresponding to what they say they are. In addition, the new laptop unsurprisingly has considerably more battery life than the one I had been using. Batteries do deteriorate if you use them every day. In some ways, I think what's impressive is just how many charge cycles that laptop has been through, whilst still retaining a life of around 2-3 hours. Amongst other changes, I've given up on Firefox, which is often subpar for things that I want to do, and have moved over to Safari.

Other than that, aside from a modest amount of work (in particular teaching preparation), I did a bit of domestic fiddling around, including cleaning the en suite bathroom, and a some transplanting of plants. I think in the end that the Champagne herb container is going to survive. At least, as things stand, I'm not rushing to get another container so that I can empty it out. It warped quite a bit in the 24 hours after I put the compost and plants in there, but it doesn't seem to have got worse since then. I'm waiting for the weather to dry up so I can go out and have a good look (and also empty out some overly full trays, which frankly I should get rid of from the balcony in the winter....

For dinner, Mr A made a version of pad kra pao from the Guardian, which was very tasty indeed, and went down well with a can of Doom Bar.

The blip? Looks like someone's been on a hen party.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.