The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Mixed Media Painting- 24 by 30 inches

I’m really pleased with this one. I went back to abstract. The idea in my head was crows. (Why? I love them.) But I didn’t have any imagery in mind. And the painting lead me elsewhere I think as I can’t see any crowness here. I do see my city perhaps. With Mount Baker in the background and Whatcom Falls in the front middle. But again not conceived until after I finished. What I did see was shapes and colors. I used impasto and spray water based inks and turned the canvas so the dripping ink formed interesting intersecting shapes. I was painting this morning. Shelly looked and liked which was nice. He mentioned one area he thought wasn’t up to the rest. I looked and saw he was right. So I boldly added darks to set off the subtle lines. At the end I used impasto to give the painting more consistency and to emphasize the color ranges grouped together. At the end I was very happy. So glad Shelly tells me what he sees and I can listen withou ego. Sometimes I see he is right. And sometimes I don’t agree. He’s fine with that. We are so lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.