AT THE MATCH

Had a busier Sunday than I usually do.  This morning I had a hospital appointment at The Queen Elizabeth Hospital for an Echo cardiogram of my heart.  This hospital isn't easy for me to get to... its either one bus an hour which I have to walk down to the village to catch or two buses changing in Gateshead.  So my sister in law offered to give me a lift - she went home  after she had dropped me off as she was expecting her grandchildren for Sunday lunch.

The echocardiogram only took around 10 mins.   Then I caught 2 buses to get home and had around 2 hours spare before I neeeded to go out again to the footie.  I did the washing up and emptied, cleaned and refilled the 3 cat litter boxes.   Then I was off again.

Newcastle were playing Spurs.  Town was absolutely buzzing.  Football fans everywhere.  Everyone looking forward to the first match for 14 years without Mike Ashley as the owner. The atmosphere inside the ground was great too - a capacity crowd of over 52,000.  My blip shows the display  of flags in the Gallowgate end of the stadium.  The words are from the Jimmy Nail song " Big River " which was being played at the time. 

"Cause this is a mighty town
Built upon a solid ground
And everything they've tried so hard to kill
We will rebuild "

So this match was the start of a new era with new owners who have made us the richest football club in the world ( how crazy is that !)  BUT we have the same ( useless ) manager and the same team who haven't won a match this season ... so I wasn't too hopeful of a good result.

However Newcastle made a great start and scored after 2 mins.  They played Ok for about 15 mins and then things unravelled. Spurs scored twice in quick succession. 

Near the end of the first half a supporter in the crowd suffered a heart attack and play was suspended.  The teams left the field.  CPR was performed until a defibrillator was taken into use and the supporter was stabilised and taken to hospital..  Thankfully - from what I can gather from Facebook - they seem to be OK now.  The teams returned and played 7 mins extra time.  Spurs scored another goal.  Then there was  the half time break.  It was all rather confusing as the tannoy announcements where I sit are poor.  So muffled that you can't understand a word.  I actually had to message Becky ( who was watching the match on TV ) to ask her what was happening..

The second half was no better than the first.  Newcastle did get a goal ... but it was an own goal by a Spurs player.  Then Newcastle had a player sent off.  Final score Newcastle 2 Spurs 3.   Its early days for the new owners and they have already said rebuilding the club will take time.  Hopefully the team will start winning some matches soon or else they will be facing relegation. 

I have added an Extra -  a  photo Becky sent me of Astrid wearing her Newcastle United babygo.  Hopefully by the time she understands what football is all about Newcastle will be a top team and she will be glad to support them.

Steps today 10,583

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.