Rodents rule

By squirk

Tail duvet

It was needed this morning I should think.

I went to the Canal Museum at King's Cross for a lunchtime explore with two colleagues. It wasn't what I was expecting and it was all the more interesting for that reason. The building is an old ice house - massive blocks of ice were stored here and transported all over London. One quote told of a team transporting and delivering 17.5 tonnes of ice a day, carrying by hand a load of 168lb up four flights of stairs in Holborn. These guys must have been super strong!

The museum also told of Little Italy, a region in Farringdon, London, that housed an Italian community. I often wondered why there were old-fashioned Italian delis dotted here and there and now I know. Fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.