Mono Monday . . . Transistor Radio

Invented in the 20th century.   Texas Instruments and Regency Division of I.D.E.A  were the first to offer a production model starting in October 1954.  It is the transistors made in Japan that I remember and my current one is a Panasonic.  My father in law and oldest brother listened to the cricket in the summer.  My mother listened to the horse racing and I of course listened to music.  When I was at home with the children our version of public radio kept me sane with book reviews and interviews.  I still listen during the day.  My mother was a listener to talkback radio in the wee small hours much to my despair.   As a side note Texas Instruments was in North Texas's Silicon Prairie and in 1979 released a 16 bit home computer. 
 
Tiny Blue Transistor Radio    Connie Smith 1965

 He bought it for my birthday just one short year ago
This tiny blue transistor radio (radio radio)
We stayed out late and listened to the music soft and low
On the tiny blue transistor radio
And the man at the radio station made the special dedication
To Jimmy and the girl that he loves so . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.