JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Stroan Loch.

A good night's sleep and my knee a bit better so I went off to Loch Ken.  I've photographed it often and the fishermen had gone so I could use the little lay bys on the shore.  There was really only one photo I liked which made me decide to go into Loch Struan on the Raider's Road.  This is an off road drive that follows the river Dee through the forest but I only went as far as Loch Struan. My luck was in as the sun came out and the reeds in the loch glowed red. Chatted with some other visitors and found some fungi. A good detour and I was tempted to go on but I had some shopping to do.  Drove off to Twynholm and the Cocoa Bean Factory.  They make their own chocolate there and have an indoor and outdoor play area so it's very popular with families.  The outdoor play area has a giant dinosaur, a pirate ship and a castle and is quite spectacular.  Their large cafe is always busy and full of hyper children so I didn't stop but bought decorated slabs of chocolate for Andy, one of a belted Galloway cow, some spooky Hallowe'en squares for Courtney and pretty little bags with two chocolates for Linda and Margaret.  Went back to the Dhoon for a picnic lunch then on to Brighouse Bay but the light wasn't there, so went back to Cream of Galloway for a double espresso and a home made shortbread biscuit.  Couldn't leave without  another scoop of cinnamon ice cream. I'm not looking forward to stepping on the scales when I get home.  Filled up with petrol at Creetown and then back to base to pack up.   Veda and I ate at the Laird's Inn again.  It was just as good and we came back to tidy and pack and finish off an opened bottle of wine.  We have to be out by nine thirty tomorrow and Veda wants an early start as she hopes to visit Crawick Multiverse a land art project by Charles Jenks.  It's spectacular but requires a fair bit of walking as it's large.  I love his work and hope to go another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.