MONO MONDAY AND PINKTOBER - 20TH CENTURY INVENTION

I must admit when I saw the theme for today’s Mono Monday, I thought it would be quite easy as there were so many inventions in the 20th Century.  But then, because I am also doing Breast Cancer Awareness Month, I had to think of a way to get something PINK into the shot - you know, a "Two for One thing".

I eventually decided on a shot of my newish Apple iMac with a certain person as the desktop picture - none other than me, wearing that pink gilet once again!  Many of you may know that I often put quotes onto my photographs, and this just happened to be one I did a few weeks ago, so I thought it fitted the bill well for both Mono Monday and Pinktober and you can even see that I took the shot today at 10.43 a.m.

Apple Inc. was started in 1976 in Los Altos, California by Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak, who were both college drop outs but were keen to develop the world’s first user-friendly personal computer, which they did in Jobs’ garage - and their invention revolutionised the computer industry.  On 1st April 1976 they launched the Apple 1, a desktop computer followed by the Apple II and the Apple III.  It wasn’t all plain sailing though, because IBM released a personal computer in 1981 and as the Apple III model had lots of technical failures, it didn’t help Apple’s reputation.

The Macintosh Computer - Apple’s most successful product was launched in 1984 with lots of “bells and whistles”, as the saying goes, with The New York Times saying that the Macintosh was the beginning of a "revolution in personal computing."

I realise I am very fortunate to have an Apple iMac - bought after our holiday to America and Canada was cancelled last year;  I do love it and I have to say I am an “Apple Girl” having an iPad, iPhone and as a reserve, my old Macbook Pro.  

However, I don’t intend going into a lot more detail about this invention (a) because you would be bored reading it and (b) because you can find out all you want to about Apple computers from the internet.  

I’m sure I don’t need to tell you about clicking - and I hope you are all clicking on this LINK, so that those who are unable to pay for a mammogram can have one free.  We are very fortunate in the UK to be able to access them through our National Health Service but many in the world are not that fortunate.

I finish with another great quote from Nora Ephron - I can thoroughly recommend the book :

“Here are some questions 
     I am constantly noodling over: 
Do you splurge or do you hoard? 
     Do you live every day as if it's your last, 
          or do you save your money on the chance 
               you'll live twenty more years?
Is life too short, 
     or is it going to be too long? 
Do you work as hard as you can, 
     or do you slow down to smell the roses? 
And where do carbohydrates fit into all this? 
Are we really all going to spend our last years 
     avoiding bread, especially now that bread 
          in America is so unbelievable delicious? 
And what about chocolate?” 
Nora Ephron:
I Feel Bad About My Neck: 
And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman

P.S.  Mr. HCB has just read my Blip and reminded me that I also have an Apple watch now! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.