SUBWAY ARTWORK

Mr. HCB went off walking with his friend, Barry, so I decided to go for a walk too, as I hadn’t been for a while.  It was very windy, but the sun kept trying to come out, so as I had a card to post for someone’s birthday, thought that a brisk walk up Marlborough Road might be a good idea.

I was wondering how to cross Queen’s Drive, which is a busy dual carriageway, without using the Coate Water underpass, which regularly floods when we have heavy rain, making it very smelly and muddy, and which I’m not keen on using when walking alone.  However, I noticed two ladies in front of me going down into the subway, so thought that I would follow them down.  

The walls on both sides have been painted with a beautiful and vibrant mural so I stopped to take a couple of photographs, as there were some brightly coloured pink flowers - and after all, it is Pinktober.

But wouldn’t you just know it - having got halfway along and in the middle of taking my photographs, I heard footsteps behind me, turned and saw a man, dressed in a high-viz, fluorescent yellow jacket and holding a clipboard, walking towards me.  I quickly walked towards the far end of the underpass, trying to avoid the muddy parts, so that at least when he got close, I would be almost outside.  He remarked as he passed that the artwork was lovely and worth taking a photograph, so I told him about Blip (as I do!) and Pinktober so we then had a conversation about the graffiti that was partway up the wall, with him saying he didn’t know why people had to deface things like this.  He carried on his way up the slope, leaving me to take more photographs and then he returned, so I quipped that if he had been wearing a pink high-viz jacket, he could have been in my photograph, at which he just laughed and carried on his way.

In total I did almost 7,000 steps, which is good for me, and it felt good - and I got some pink for today’s Blip without too much effort.  Of course, I know I don’t have to remind you about clicking - but I will - please click on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have a free one.  Thank you.

“Surviving may mean learning to live
     with a new normal.”
Edith G. Tolchin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.