PINKTOBER - DAY 19

We are now more than halfway through the month of October - which as you all know by now is Breast Cancer Awareness Month - or BCAM for short.

Following our two jabs yesterday, and after a sleepless night the night before, I had a very long sleep, in fact, when I woke and looked at my watch, I was amazed to see it was 9.19 a.m.  Mr. HCB was very kind and left me asleep although he told me he was up by 6.30 a.m.  I quickly had my shower, and went downstairs to get my first cup of coffee and then decided to have a wander around the garden.

There are still plenty of pink flowers blooming and although this Dahlia looks a little “tired”, it made me think that for anyone who is currently going through treatment, particularly for breast cancer, this is probably how they feel at times - jaded, tired and possibly nauseous and wondering if they will feel their normal self again.  That’s the time they need friends around them - who can “lift” them and encourage them to keep going - and what a privilege it is to be able to do that for a friend. Not every flower in our garden is perfect, but they are still beautiful.  

I remember a very good friend who had breast cancer and when she said she was on a journey, I decided that I would send her a card, which I did most weeks, with a “Thomas the Tank Engine” theme - to let her know that I was on the journey with her and I know she appreciated these small gestures.

So is there someone you can help in this way?   Emails and Whatsapp messages are all well and good and fast  - and with the postal strikes, probably will get there quicker, but there is nothing quite like hearing the postman pushing a card through your letterbox and the excitement of opening it to see who it’s from!  I had several from different friends when I had Covid in the middle of August - and I have to say they are still on our mantelpiece - (a) it saves me from dusting and (b) I am encouraged by those who took the trouble to write to me - but I was also grateful to those who messaged, so if you didn’t send a card, please don’t feel guilty!

You all know what to do without me telling you - but I will still do that - please click on this LINK to give those who cannot afford to pay a free mammogram.  Many thanks.

“And once the storm is over
     you won't remember
          how you made it through,
               how you managed to survive.
You won't even be sure, in fact,
     whether the storm is really over,
          but one thing is certain - 
when you come out of the storm
     you won't be the same person
          who walked in.
That's what this storm's all about."
Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.