bowl, by Ki Woon Huh

I shared a photo of the artist and master potter Ki Woon Huh (with my friend Cheryl) in this journal entry yesterday. Today, a photo of a bowl Ki made. Cheryl bought it and gave to me as a gift. In fact, she suggested I pick out one I like when we were visiting his studio -and I did!

I love this bowl with it's pale color, it's smooth feel and especially the leaf embellishment on the edge. So different and special . . . I tend to eat whole grain cranberry oatmeal out of it the most! My dear friend Frieda gave me the idea to photograph the bowl with her comment yesterday. Thank you, that was fun! For my settings I used an ISO of 160, f 2.8 and shutter speed 1/800 sec. I don't have a handle on all of these things yet, but I am continuing to try and I also go for choosing a variety of settings just to see what works. For this, the flash was on automatic and it went off but I like the light it added....

My oatmeal bowl is sitting on top of the new stone retaining wall we just had installed to contain a garden bed in the front yard with will include azaleas, plumbago, white lantana, a butterfly bush and a pink jatropha. All of the plants are in place, waiting to be planted tomorrow with a bit more Asiatic Jasmine for ground cover. No more lawn!! In gratitude to Ann Hall, Grant Blackwell, his helper Mike and Len Besterman for all the stonework. The beautification project is almost done!


Shared joy is a double joy; shared sorrow is half a sorrow.
~ Swedish proverb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.