Cauldron Falls

First full day in the Dales and it looked decidedly downcast. It wasn’t raining, quite, but it was very dull. I chose some locations that I thought might fit in with a dull day and set off. First destination was Ivelet Bridge in Swaledale, a very pretty high arched bridge that I’d seen in a friend’s photos. From there I was moving on to some old lead smelting mills but on the way I passed through Gunnerside where there’s a well known scene of drystone walls and field barns so I stopped and took a few photos there. 

The Old Gang Smelting mills are a good walk, my book says 10 minutes but I reckon you can double that and add a bit. Still, it was good to get a walk in. After that I headed down to West Burton for the Cauldron Falls, which are a very attractive falls set in a horse shoe setting. The leaves are beginning to change nicely adding some colour to the photo.

I've managed to add a couple of extras. The first is the Gunnerside barns and the second is Ivelet Bridge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.