Alfie Makes A New Friend

After a good night’s sleep I went for an early walk around the campsite. It was a beautiful morning although very damp. I enjoyed the pretty dog walk, even without a dog!

We had a relaxing morning which included toasted crumpets for breakfast. Of the four of us camping here in Lacock in our Alphards, two were staying another night and two of us were heading home. I left just after noon - it was VERY hard to leave as the weather was almost like summer and I would have liked to have stayed. But I have appointments tomorrow so I had to head home.

I stopped for petrol in Chippenham because not only was it considerably cheaper than at home, but they seemed to have plenty, when all the petrol stations at home had still been empty when I left on Thursday.

Sadly, what should have been a quick trip home took AGES because one section of the M4 was closed this weekend for roadworks , causing tailbacks to get off and tailbacks to get back on. It took 3 hours to go what should have taken a bit over an hour. I passed near my sister, so although I was eager to get home, I decided to make the small detour to her house. Even though we don’t live too far away from each other, I hadn’t seen her since May and hadn’t been to her house since before Christmas. Tina is looking after two of her grandchildren while the parents are away on an exotic holiday to celebrate (late) their 10th wedding anniversary. So it was great fun to surprise them with a visit. I got a cup of tea and a sandwich for a late lunch. And after spending the weekend with all those other Alphards, Alfie was happy to make a new friend. My brother-in-law is a builder so one never knows quite what kind of machinery will be in their driveway!

It was a fun but busy and tiring weekend, so I was glad to finally get home! I have a busy week ahead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.