Thirty Alfies!

I woke up very early on the ‘campsite’ this morning and the sky was clear enough to see plenty of stars. After I finished my first cup of tea and opened the van door again, we were enveloped in fog! It burned off eventually once the sun was high in the sky and we had a beautiful very warm day!

The rest of the Toyota Alphard group arrived in convoy before 7am (top right). There were about 30 of us in total. We were only one group - the whole event was a gathering of vehicles imported from Japan - cars made for the Japanese market, not the European market. JDM - Japanese Domestic Market. The event at Castle Combe is held every year, but was cancelled of course last year, and this year was delayed from June to October.

We were a smaller group than in past years. In 2018 there were over 70 Alphards and we won the award for being the largest group. But 30 was a good sized group for getting to know each other and renew some acquaintances from previous years. Not everyone has had their Alphard converted into a camper - some keep them as versatile 7 or 8 seaters but may still use them for car camping or with a tent. It was great to see the other campers and to compare notes and get ideas.

The bottom right picture is our most senior member!

I walked around and had a good look at some of the other cars at the show (middle pictures). I think I might even have an idea for when I have to replace my (french!!) every day car! Some might think I’ve become rather ‘square’! (That’s a hint!)

The day was rather noisy at times as some of the drivers with racer-type cars were able to book a slot to race around the circuit. The Alphard certainly didn’t fit the stereotype of most of the car clubs at this event! By late afternoon people started to leave and the four of us who’d been camping at Lacock returned ‘home’ for another night there. It was rather nice to get back to the peace and quiet.

It was my turn to cook for N and me and I made a one-pot meal in my Remoska with roasted vegetables and chicken and if I may say so it was very tasty. The other two joined us for drinks after they’d had their own dinner and I don’t think my Alfie has hosted quite so large a party (4!!), at least not since he’s been in England! It was a great day but I was very glad when bedtime finally rolled around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.