The Witch and Wardrobe

I took this on my way to catch the train to Metheringham this morning. It's the Witch and Wardrobe pub - I've drank there before in the past but not for ages. It seems to have a crowd of regulars, is down-to-Earth rather than trendy. It's a very old building - parts of it date back to the 13th century but it is mainly 16th century. It has been a basket-makers' workshop, the Liberal Club, an Oyster Saloon and for most of the 20th century a very popular fish and chip shop!  

It did not become a pub until 1979 I don't think. It is known around the area to be haunted by a woman who fell to her death down a spiral staircase which is still visible above the bar area of the pub. Allegedly she moves stuff and makes mischief!

Anyhow! I headed over, and everything is OK over there. The sink is functional again and there were a few little jobs to do. 

Home on the train again, and as I now don't get back until gone 4PM on train days Brian collected me for Tesco shopping. Glad that is out of the way for the week!

I'm off tonight then working Tues/Weds/Thu this week! Not too bad and all out of the way in one go! 

In other news: I have found my cat tealight holder! Hurrah!! And the dentist receptionist called to offer me an appointment with thee hygienist in November as there has been a cancellation - better than having to wait until next May!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.