Snapjax

By Snapjax

More Squirrel

Looking at my Leeds Activity app I realised that booking a swim session was no longer required.  When I first started swimming in May Covid restrictions meant I was only able to swim once a week, then I bought my Annual Membership (£260) so I was able to book online.  Each session allowed 20 swimmers per 45 mins.  The pool and locker room were clean, it was a pleasure to go swimming, I knew the lanes would have restricted numbers.  I realised that there were 5 lanes, very slow, slow, fast, and two medium paced lanes.  I use the medium paced lanes for backstroke, front crawl and proper breaststroke but have decided that a steady 30 mins in either of the slow lanes is the best way to build overall strength.

So this morning I set off for the 7am session in the dark and damp but mild air, it was kinda spooky.  

By the time I slid into the slow lane the water was lapping the sides from the frenetic pace of activity in the fast and medium lanes. I swam slowly for 30 mins; when I left the building the sky had lightened but there was no sunrise, the damp had turned to drizzle as I walked home.

The drizzle has turned to rain.  The squirrels are collecting acorns and all sorts, I think the young ones are practising by lifting and carrying pebbles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.