a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The last dragon

Tiny Tuesday: The last dragon

The weather fronts have been scudding across us today as we've had quite a windy showery day.  I started off with a trip to Southmead Hospital on the motorbike to have my bloods etc checked for the drug trial.  I was fortunate to manage to get there and back through the traffic in well under two hours, so was home by 9:15am, without having been rained on once.

I popped out a that point looking for something to shoot for Tiny Tuesday, although the strong wind made it unlikely that I would find any insects.  I spotted some lichen and a little rose, but that was about it.  When I got back and was making a cup of tea for Cathy and I caught some movement over the pond from the kitchen window.  Further investigation revealed a female southern hawker fighting the wind.  So I raced to get the long lens on the camera and popped outside to take this shot.

I hung around for quite a bit in the hope that she would take off and give me the chance to try to get her in the air (although the gusty wind would probable have made that next to impossible).  But as you can see, she was busy ovipositing and showed no signs of wanting to battle the wind any further for the time being.  Hopefully, we may have some more dragons coming out of the pond in years to come ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.