Tuesday trip

Another sunny day.. Drove to Shipley Country Park . Once a mining area . It was planted out and is now a pleasant place to walk .
Lovely and mild too. 

Back to the car and decided to drive to Newstead Abbey. Luckily the route passed straight past the hotel as I'd left our packed lunch ( and Fletch's) in our room. 

Normally we reach Newstead from a
 different direction so I had to rely on our SatNav. . As a result we went via some very narrow lanes . It was quite a surprise when we arrived there as I'd no idea where we were going.  ( I got out the A to Z map to go back ) I'm really not impressed with Garmin.

It was overcast but very mild.. We wandered round the Japanese garden . The Autumn colours are late this year, but is still a pleasant walk.

Back at the car we decided to have the Danish pastries that wed kept from  breakfast. As I was feeding Fletch with his usual food ( no pastries for him) I turned round and there were 3 peacocks  right behind me. They were very tame and obviously  used to scrounging off the visitors. 
They have such beautiful plumage. No chance of a wonderful tail display as they appeared to have either lost their feathers or they have been removed. 
Extra a collage of our day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.