DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Flying high

I decided not to delay my decision to resign, so managed to catch my boss before we started work this morning to get it out of the way.

He was a bit taken aback, but agreed that I have to do what’s best for me and I’ve got more opportunities support & encouragement elsewhere.

Although I gave him a written resignation, he didn’t open the envelope as we talked through my decision. I always like to put things in writing though, I think it’s the proper thing to do.

I took the decision to keep my reasons for leaving positive; although I’m not happy about a few things there, I feel you should never burn bridges. My Boss said I would be welcome back anytime, which was nice to hear and know.

The hardest part was telling the girls; it got a bit emotional as we all get on so well and have become a little family unit over the last 9 years. They all agreed it was the right decision for me, before starting off on their own little rants about being underpaid and overworked! Which they are.

It was a busy day, which helped distract me from feeling sad about leaving; it’s bittersweet but I know it’s the right thing to do long term.

I was glad to get home and let my husband make tea before he forgets what to do. He made an excellent job of meatballs in a marinara sauce, which I then ‘ruined’ with Sriracha sauce ;-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.