bgleyna

By bgleyna

Moles?

I noticed several little mounds of dirt in my front yard which weren’t caused by me. I thought maybe Daniel had been making some adjustments to the brick edging, but when I saw one pile of fresh dirt near the house, I got more suspicious. Dana thought it might be moles.

I did some online research and found out that moles are repelled by any plants in the onion family, so I have plenty of those in other parts of the garden. I cut some back and harvested some seeds and sprinkled all this on one of the mounds close to the house, as I don’t want them getting into our foundation!

However, I’m not going to do anything to stop the moles elsewhere, as they are doing a great job of aerating my soil and eating the larvae of other garden pests, including ants! They could actually be my friends, rather than pests! At least I don’t have a manicured lawn like most of my neighbors have to worry about!

Daniel’s advice is, of course, to let Nature do its thing and don’t interfere!

Other than garden play, I have been helping out with washing pans and such at the Bakery, to help Rachelle out while her baking colleague is on vacation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.